Sentai/ADV licenses CLANNAD: After Story, Ghost Hound, and He is my Master

According to new product pre-orders on RightStuf, it’s been revealed that Sentai Filmworks (whose distributor is ADV Films) has licensed the second half of the CLANNAD series, CLANNAD: After Story, as well as the anime series Ghost Hound and He is my Master.

CLANNAD: After Story is the 24 episode + 1 OVA second season to the CLANNAD series, which aired between October 2008 and March 2009.  Ghost Hound is a 22 episode series which aired between October 2007 and April 2008.  He is my Master is a 12 episode series that aired between April and June 2005.

The first parts of CLANNAD: After Story and Ghost Hound are being released October 20th while the He is my Master complete series is being released October 6th.  All three releases, as with past Sentai licenses, will be subtitle-only.


It looks like Ghost Hound might have been revealed earlier this morning on Sentai Filmwork’s presumably soon to be launched (and long overdue) website, but they have since password protected it.

Update 2

I guess I should give some of the credit of this to the fact that RightStuf tweeted this and Scott Frye noticed that they were new.

Update 3

ANN notes that Popotan and A Little Snow Fairy Sugar, which are also on the list, were previously licensed by Geneon Entertainment.

CLANNAD (TV) – Anime Review

The Essentials

CLANNADName: CLANNAD; CLANNAD: After Story (Season 2)
Genre: Drama, Comedy, Romance
Episodes: 44 + 3 specials + 1 recap
Aired: October 4, 2007 – March 27, 2008; October 3, 2008 – March 26, 2009
Based On: CLANNAD dating sim by Key/Visual Arts
Director: Tatsuya Ishihara
Produced By: Kyoto Animation
US Distribution By: ADV Films/Sentai Filmworks


Character Japanese Cast English Cast (N/A)
Tomoya Okazaki: Yuuichi Nakamura
Nagisa Furukawa: Mai Nakahara
Kyou Fujibayashi: Ryou Hirohashi
Youhei Sunohara: Daisuke Sakaguchi
Kotomi Ichinose: Mamiko Noto
Tomoyo Sakagami: Houko Kuwashima
Sanae Furukawa: Kikuko Inoue
Akio Furukawa: Ryotaro Okiayu
Ryou Fujibayashi: Akemi Kanda
Yukine Miyazawa: Atsuko Enomoto
Ushio Okazaki: Satomi Koorogi
Yusuke Yoshino: Hikaru Midorikawa
Fuko Ibuki: Ai Nonaka


CLANNAD, and it’s second season, CLANNAD: After Story, is about two high school students – Nagisa and Tomoya – who each are having their own problems in life, but are able to lift each other up out of those circumstances together.

Nagisa is a sickly and shy girl who has been held back in her senior year of high school due to missing much of the year with a mysterious illness.  This, on top of her social timidness, has resulted in her not having all that many friends.  Tomoya, meanwhile, has been leading a dismal life, living with his drunkard father and being looked down upon by the rest of the students in the school as the resident deliquient.  However, one day early Tomoya’s senior year (and Nagisa’s repeat of hers), the two run into each other on a hill leading to school, and their extroardinary tale begins.

Along the way, the two hang out with a variety of students at the school, including the student representative twins, the timid Ryou and the tomboy and violent Kyou, the super genius Kotomi, ex-gang fighter Tomoyo, as well as Tomoya’s troublemaker-in-chief friend Sunohara, and the always hospitable Yukine.  The two are also encouraged by Nagisa’s parents, Akio and Sanae, whom Tomoya soon starts living with due to his own domistic situation.

The first season of CLANNAD is mostly spent running through the 5 main girl’s arcs, though only two of the girls, Fuko and Kotomi, have true and distinct story arcs per se, with Tomoyo’s, Kyou’s, and Nagisa’s arcs all essentially running parallel with each other near the end of the series.  The second season begins by running through short story arcs for some of the minor characters, before jumping into the beef of the story, which is Tomoya and Nagisa’s post-high school relationship.

CLANNAD is replete with comedic and dramatic story points which make this series very entertaining to watch (and the overall storytelling helps as well).  The show covers enough ground that, even though it’s 44 episodes long (at least in the series proper), it never really stalls or hangs around any given conflict too long, keeping the series fresh as it progresses.

My only problem with the series is it’s ending, which I personally think invalidates the last 6 episodes of the series, which happen to be perhaps the most powerful episodes of the entire series.  However, your mileage may vary when it comes to whether one likes or dislikes the ultimate ending.  Luckily, there is still more than enough in the rest of the series that the ending didn’t dampen my overall enjoyment of the series too much.

As is usual with Kyoto Animation series, the music and animation quality are amazing.  My only complaint is that the series, as aired on TV, is in 4:3 aspect ratio, while a re-airing in it’s proper 16:9 ratio didn’t occur until 3 or 4 weeks later, though the 16:9 version should be fully available by now (or for purchase from ADV Films for the first season).

Overall, if you’re looking for a good romance-drama with a healthy dose of added comedy as well and want something that doesn’t totally confirm to the norm in the genre, you may like CLANNAD.


Story: 5/5
Animation: 5/5
Music: 5/5
English Dubs: N/A

Overall: 5/5

First Watched: October 2007 – March 2009
Do I Own: Yes
Do I Recommend: Yes

CLANNAD: After Story – Extra

It’s the CLANNAD: After Story special episode, and it’s a year before Nagisa and Tomoya’s fateful meeting. We finally see some of her old high school friends, as well as the original encounter between Kyou and Tomoya.

clannadas23-00001 clannadas23-00005 clannadas23-00010
clannadas23-00017 clannadas23-00021 clannadas23-00024

Continue reading

CLANNAD: After Story – Episode 22 [END]

It’s CLANNAD: After Story episode 22 – the final episode of the series proper. Stuff happens, then more stuff happens, then other stuff that I don’t understand happens,then it ends.

clannadas22-00005 clannadas22-00008 clannadas22-00010
clannadas22-00016 clannadas22-00032 clannadas22-00033

Continue reading

CLANNAD: After Story – Episode 18

It’s *sniff* CLANNAD: After Story episode 18 and *sniff* Tomoya and Ushio go on their trip, where Tomoya discovers more about himself than he could have possibly imagined. *blows nose and starts balling*

clannadas18-00004 clannadas18-00011
clannadas18-00017 clannadas18-00024

Continue reading

CLANNAD: After Story – Episode 16

It’s CLANNAD: After Story episode 16, and a very pregnant Nagisa has a visit with some old friends before she goes into labor and she and Tomoya are blessed with a healthy baby. However, Tomoya’s bliss soon turns in his worst nightmare.

clannadas16-00002 clannadas16-00006
clannadas16-00015 clannadas16-00024

Continue reading