Tamayura: Hitotose – Episode 12 [END]

It’s the day of the exhibition, and while things start out slowly, the girls start seeing a steady stream of people through their exhibition. Everybody’s presentations are a hit, but the biggest one is Maon’s new recital, which combines all of the girl’s talents together. The next night, the girls celebrate New Years when Chihiro calls and says she’s made friends with Tomo, a girl in her class. Finally, Sayomi takes them driving (to near disastrous results) the next morning to watch the first sunrise.

Maon and friends say goodbye and thank you for watching

Maon and friends say goodbye and thank you for watching

And this series ends as it largely began: as a laid back slice-of-life series. As I thought when they first came up with the idea, they ended the series with the exhibition, which was done probably as well as you could expect. I’m kinda sad that we didn’t hear all of Maon’s new story, though. The rest of the episode was pretty much the four girls being themselves, with a trip with Sayomi, who apparently learned how to drive from Yukari-sensei, thrown in.

For whatever reason, this series gave me the feeling of a series made in the early to mid-2000s, which is fine since it seems like series from that era seemed to be better in my opinion anyway. Maybe it’s the way that it can be cute without going overboard on moe. Maybe it was the animation style. Maybe it was the music. I don’t know, but whatever it was, I liked it.

Even though previews of this series make it sound like it’s all about photography, it really isn’t, even though photography is a major part of Fu’s character. But you don’t need to be a photography nerd at all to enjoy this series. I certainly know this series isn’t for everyone, but if you’re a fan of slow-paced shows, I’d definitely recommend it.

There is also an OVA, which apparently is supposed to take place between the first two episodes of this series. I don’t know if I can find it anywhere or not, but if I can, maybe I can sneak watching that in somewhere.

