Tamayura: Hitotose – Episode 1

Tamayura: Hitotose is the only show from the fall season that isn’t a sequel or spinoff of a show that I hadn’t already seen. I questioned whether I should do a fourth show, but I thought at least one show that was different might be good, and this one looked the most interesting, so here we go.

Fu is a girl who likes photography. However, her father, who taught it to her, tragically died  a few years prior and she stopped taking photos. Now, in her final years of middle school, she spends most of her time with her best friend Chihiro, who is overly sensitive to anything that might remind Fu of her lost father. When she gets home, she finds that her little brother Kou was bug out their father’s old photobook and decides to take up photography again. She then decides she wants to return to her childhood home at Takehara to go to high school.

Fu takes up her old hobby

Fu takes up her old hobby

If the first episode is any indication, this looks like a serious I’ll really enjoy. I was kinda sad that Fu and Chihiro’s friendship only really lasted the first episode (at least on screen) because I thought they were excellent together, and how Chihiro was always worried about Fu was kinda touching. But now Fu enters a new chapters of her life as she returns to her childhood home, where her childhood friends, whom she hasn’t seen in years, still live.

This is a pretty easy going show so far, though certainly not lacking in emotional impact. I guess my only worry is that it’ll run out of steam before the end, but we’ll see I guess.

