Gurren Lagann: DVD 3 (Episodes 10 – 14)

So after one last episode of emo Simon, he finally got out of his funk and decided to be kickass, largely thanks to Nia, who has breathed some new life into this series, both for comedic relief, but also prop up the non-mecha fighting part of the show as well.  Speaking of the mecha fighting, I guess it’s the usual.  I guess I have to give some props to there being some variation in the types of mecha they’re fighting now instead of the same old, same old.

Nia and Simon.  The Most Aweseome Awesomest Team Ever in the histoy of Awesome

Nia and Simon. The Most Aweseome Awesomest Team Ever in the histoy of Awesome

I think Nia has quickly shot up to being my favorite character so far, though Simon is up there as well as long as he isn’t being emo.  Yoko still just seems mostly annoying, although one can’t deny that she’s an integral part of the team.  I have a feeling there may be some future fighting between Yoko and Nia over Simon, however.

They cleared through the 4 generals and got to the spiral king pretty quickly.  I don’t see them fighting the Spiral King for entire second half of the series, so I really don’t know what’s going to happen after that’s done.  I figured the Spiral King would be the end of the series, not the mid-point, so we’ll see I guess.

Overall I guess this series is holding it’s own for now.  It’s still somewhat over the top, but it’s not over the top to the point of being stupid yet, at least.

