Yosuga no Sora – Episode 1

Pre-thoughts: I know this is another visual novel adaptation, but I’ve had pretty good luck with them, and this one looks like it could be a decent one, so I thought I would give it a shot.  It’s made by feel, who I don’t have much experience with. The only other show I’ve seen that they’ve done is the first ever series I blogged; Nagasarete Airantou.  I really don’t have many other thoughts on it other than that before I begin.

Series: Yosuga no Sora
Media: pwq Fansub – Episode 1

Kiss Sis!

Geh, nothing says that a series is going to be great than every girl going mellow-mellow the literal instant they see the male protagonist.  I mean, really. He’s nothing that special.  Akira, the girl who knew Haru from before, I can understand, but everyone else just elicited a facepalm from me after a while. Speaking of Akira, she seems to have some hints of Yuri between herself and shrine maiden Kazu, though whether that’s real or just the show teasing, I guess we’ll find out.

Meanwhile, Sora appears to have a full-on brother-complex over Haru, despite the fact that she’s outwardly distant from him, which I think has just intensified due to the death of their parents.  This is brought to a head when she tells Haru that she thought he had run away after he didn’t answer any of her text messages while he was at school (he forgot his phone) and then later that night, she strips in front of Haru and asks him to have sex with her

While the two might have played house or doctor or whatever when they were little, Haru doesn’t seem to harbor any romantic feelings for Sora anymore, so she’s likely to get rebuffed.  That in turn is probably going to make their already rocky relationship worse, since she’ll probably take it as him rejecting her as a person and not just as a lover.

Also, I’m not sure when I’ve seen blatant female, well, masturbation on a supposedly non-hentai show before.  I knew this was an H-visual novel, but they often tone things down for TV, and while I”m sure this has, this is still one of the more explicit shows I’ve seen in quite a while.

As for the future of this show, I think the jury is still out. Hopefully the other characters will be fleshed out a bit better.  I don’t really expect all the characters to be explored in the first episode, but there is always a danger with a series like this that it’ll go more towards the mindless fanservice direction in stead of actually trying to tell a story.

8 thoughts on “Yosuga no Sora – Episode 1

  1. Also, I’m not sure when I’ve seen blatant female, well, masturbation on a supposedly non-hentai show before.

    Yami to Boushi to Hon no Tabibito is a good place to start ;)

  2. Also, I’m not sure when I’ve seen blatant female, well, masturbation on a supposedly non-hentai show before. I knew this was an H-visual novel, but they often tone things down for TV, and while I”m sure this has, this is still one of the more explicit shows I’ve seen in quite a while.

    For what it’s worth, it’s quite the contrary. The anime has ramped things up significantly; none of the fanservice shown in the episode was in the game at all. Basically, they’re “toning things up”.

  3. I think this is the first rather erotic thing I saw in a Visual Novel adaption, let alone a Eroge adaption. Most of the time, the eroge elements are taken out in the adaptations. It seems that the production team wants to spice things up.

  4. Haru doesn’t seem to harbor any romantic feelings for Sora anymore, so she’s likely to get rebuffed.

    Hmmm I think you need to rewatch the bit on the hallucinations at the table… that was Haru’s fantasy :)

    Personally I thought the show has a lot more going than it seems. Flashes of anger in the eyes, unnatural awkwardness between neighbours and the mysterious atmosphere surrounding the Kasuganos are signs that the animators know where they’re heading with the show.

    As for FEEL, I enjoyed their DCIISS (only the 2nd season) and Otome wa boku ni koishiteru. Good direction, pace and character development. I have high hopes for Yosuga no Sora.

  5. Pingback: Self-Pleasure in Anime at Otaku, No Video

  6. try clannad, kanon, and air. they actually have good themes and morals, not just pointless h-scenes.

  7. Hmm it appears like your blog ate my first comment (it was extremely long) so I guess I’ll just sum it up what I had written and say, I’m thoroughly enjoying your blog. I too am an aspiring blog blogger but I’m still new to the whole thing. Do you have any helpful hints for newbie blog writers? I’d definitely appreciate it.

Comments are closed.