Gurren Lagann – DVD 1

Pre-thoughts

(I’ll probably add some preliminary thoughts to series I haven’t seen before on the first post)

I’m a little hesitant about heading into Gurren Lagann, because most everything about it says that I probably won’t like it.  Whether that’s because it’s GAINAX, it’s one of those “OMGWTFBBQ THIS IS THE BEST SERIES EVAR!!” series, or because I’ve heard some rather…questionable…things about it’s fan service (bolstered by the art and clips I’ve seen).

Nevertheless, since this is one of the more recent “Big Things,” I thought I’d give it a try.

Series: Gurren Lagann
Media: Part 1, Disc 1 (Episodes 1 – 5)

Well I guess so far this show isn’t as bad as I thought.  It seems to be staying more on the funny side rather than the stupid side (though not by much).  Though hopefully Shinji Simon will stop complaining sometime soon because it’s getting kind of old.  Kamina is probably the best character so far, even if he is a bit crazy.  Yuko, meanwhile, seems to exist to fire her pretty useless gun, go provide bouncing boobs, and to have absolutely no modesty about shoving her boobs into the guy’s (especially Simon’s) faces (or vice versa).

So far there isn’t much of a central point, really, other than the trio fighting off the Gunmen (hur hur).  Perhaps the most disturbing part so far was their pig thing tearing off it’s ass to give Simon and Kamina a bite to eat cause their machines weren’t working due to them starving.  Throw in a foursome of siblings who ride around on dogs…backwards, and many things on this show are downright weird so far.

Also, I’m not sure what was up with the animation in episode 4, but it seemed kind of…off.

3 thoughts on “Gurren Lagann – DVD 1

  1. yea… “shinji” is really boring in the begining, but it will become better when he’ll stop complaning and become the real Simon. just hang on :)

Comments are closed.