DC Comics shutting down CMX

I guess this is probably old news by now, but it’s been a pretty bad couple of weeks for manga lovers.  First, Go! Comi falls off the face of the earth, and now DC Comics is completely shutting down CMX, their manga division as of July 1st.

Unfortunately, I’m probably one of the people who helped lead to this in that my manga purchasing has pretty much dropped to zero for quite a few months now (sans the last couple volumes of Fruits Basket) until my financial situation is a bit better.  I can’t remember if I really bought anything from CMX anyway, but I’m sure I’m not the only one who has cut out things like buying manga (or comics generally) in an age where you don’t get any salary of any kind over the course of at least 3 or 4 years (and many would take even that), but the cost of everything else still goes up.

Here’s to hoping that some of their unfinished titles get picked up. Also, here is a list of all the titles they have released.

Gia also has more here.

