News from my Hiatus

As you may have seen, I have a new “News” link in my navigation now, which I hope to fill up with, well, articles about anime news.  However, seeing that there isn’t actually anything in that category yet, I thought I’d start things off by creating a post going over some of the news from the start of the year:

New License Announcements

  • Funimation licenses Hero Tales, Master of Martial Hearts anime series (Jan. 7, 2010)
  • Funimation licenses Hetalia – Axis Powers, The Sacred Blacksmith (Jan 8, 2010)
  • Media Blasters licenses – and I have no idea why – Kanokon (Jan. 15, 2010)
  • Sentai licenses Gintana (and the masses rejoice), Hidimark Sketch x 365, The Living for the Day After Tomorrow (not about blizzards), and Petite Cossette anime (Jan. 21, 2010)
  • It’s nice to see anime licesnors start up rather than shut down. A new one is NIS America, and their first licenses are Toradora, Pandora Hearts, Persona -trinity soul-, and Our Home’s Fox Deity (from KadoUSA). (Feb. 11, 2010)
  • Media Blasters licenses Sayonara, Zetsubou-Sensei (and the masses rejoice again) (Feb. 18, 2010)
  • Media Blasters grabs Record of Lodoss War from bankrupted CPM (Feb. 19, 2010)
  • Sentai keeps going wild by grabbing Asu no Yoichi, Eyeshield 21, and Hell Girl 2 (Feb. 26, 2010)
  • Funimation licenses Baka & Test and Dance in the Vampire Bund (March 4, 2010)
  • Sentai/Section 23 licenses Papillon Rose, La Corda D’Oro, and Brighter than the Dawning Blue (March 19, 2010)

Other Generally Cool and/or Disturbing News

  • 450,000 people visited the shrine that appears in the Lucky Star anime/manga.  I’m not sure that it’s cool that there are that many dedicated anime fans in Japan, or disturbing that they’re actually bothering to visit a shrine from an anime during New Years.
  • Shockingly, I have not watched the entirety of FLCL. I think I watched one episode, maybe two, on Cartoon Network at some point, and then quit.  However, the fact that it is getting the HD treatment (now that I actually have a Blu-Ray player) may finally convince me to give it another shot.
  • The fact that 80% of an Anime Con’s workers threaten to resign, and management don’t seem to think of it as a problem, would seem to show that the problem is with management, and not the workers.
  • I thought my hiatus was long
  • Finally, the news I’m most stoked about recently – several series, including CLANNAD and – unbelievably – Blue Drop are getting dubbed by Sentai.  It also suggests that Sentai/Section 23 has gotten back on it’s feet enough to actually spend the money on dubbing again.
