First Impressions: Kimi ni Todoke

Kimi ni TodokeJosh – I know that Polaryzed is already blogging this series, but I thought I’d chime in on it since I’m also watching it.

Kimi ni Todoke was a series which I actually had some serious doubts about going into it, and it was one of the last series to sneak into my watch list.  However, boy am I glad that I ended up picking it because so far it looks like it might just be the series of the season after watching the first two episodes.  So far there isn’t very much to dislike about this series, with good writing and animation, and a nice, but not overbearing, romance element to it.

I was trying to pin down exactly what series this show reminded me of the most, but I’m not sure I can really give a good answer.  It seems like my best answer is His and Her Circumstances, even though the character types for the lead characters are obviously different.  But it just seems to have a particular air to the series that reminds me of it (and as long as it compares to the first 2/3 of Kare Kano, then that’s a good thing).  In any case, I’m really looking forward to see how the rest of this series turns out.

