Yozakura Quartet – Anime Review

The Essentials

Yozakura QuartetName: Yozakura Quartet
Genre: Action, Supernatural
Episodes: 12
Released: October 2, 2008 – December 18, 2008
Based On: Yozakura Quartet manga by Suzuhito Yasuda
Director: Kou Matsuo
Produced By: Nomad
US Distribution By: N/A

Major Japanese Cast

Hime Yarisakura: Misato Fukuen
Akina Hiizumi: Yuuki Kaji
Kotoha Isone: Miyuki Sawashiro
Ao Nanami: Saki Fujita
Enjin Hiizumi: Tomokazu Seki
Kyousuke Kishi: Daisuke Ono
Eiji Shinozuka: Hideki Tasaka
Rin Azuma: Ai Matayoshi
Yuuhi Shinatsuhiko: Sachi Matsumoto
Mariabelle: Rie Tanaka

Major English Cast

N/A

Scores

Animation: 8/10 (x 4 = 32 pts)
Story: 5/10 (x 4 = 20 pts)
Music: 10/10 (x 4 = 40 pts)
Coherence/Story Arc: 9/10 (x 2 = 18 pts)
English Dubs: N/A
Gut Score: 6/10 (x 5 = 30 pts)

Total: 140/190 (73.7%)

Review

Yozakura Quartet is about, surprisingly, a quartet of teenagers who use their power to protect the town of Sakurashin – the only town in the world where youkai and humans can live together – from anything that threatens it.  The quartet includes two youkai: Hime, who is the mayor of the town, and who has super human strength, and Ao, who can read minds; one half-human, half-youkai: Kotoha, who can make anything appear just by saying it’s name; and a human: Akina, who has the power to “tune” Youkai, which sends them pack to the youkai world, which has run through his family for generations.

One day, a youkai arrives in Sakurashin and starts making trouble.  However, Akina and Hime soon find out that it is a demon named Enjin who has possessed the body of one of their best friends, Gin.  Akina and Hime either have to find a way to separate Enjin from Gin’s body or send both back to the youkai world before Enjin destroys the town.

Overall, I thought that the story in Yozakura Quartet was rather needlessly drawn out.  The story about Enjin seemed more like a story arc that should have taken up about half the time that it did in the show, instead of drawing it out over the entirety of the 12 episode series.  As a result, it seemed like the story was spread a little thin.  I think the story in of itself was fine, at least in concept, it was just long and it made the series overall kind of boring, bland, and single-minded to me.

The same can’t necessarily be said about the animation quality and music, both of which I thought pretty good in this series.  The animation looks overall pretty well done, though one might expect that for a production company which handled such shows as Honey & Clover and Rozen Maiden.  The music was a mix of nicely done instrumentals and background-rock music which gave the show some much needed life.

Despite all this, unless you watch a show just for eye and ear candy – things which help boost the overall score of the show – I’m not sure what much else there is to watch, unless you don’t mind watching a story which probably should be told in 4 and maybe at most 6 episodes get drawn out over 12.

First Watched: October – December 2008
Do I Own: No
Do I Recommend: No

5 thoughts on “Yozakura Quartet – Anime Review

  1. The same can’t be said about the animation quality and music, both of which are very good in this series. The animation looks sharp and crisp

    Whoa, were we watching the same show? Although the character designs were nice, the production values plummeted quite quickly. I’m not as mad about the blobby enemies (they looked like that in the manga too), but the art was terrible at the end, and all the attacks were just flashes of rainbow light!

  2. The battle choreography was by and large garbage, as if the animators thought that adding more bright colors could make the battles more exciting.

    Well, I would pretty much agree that battles were long and boring, but long and boring battles have more to do with writing than animation in my view. From what I could tell, most of the animation itself looked sharp to me.

    Of course, I’ve said it before that I kind of have doubts about my own eye when it comes to animation quality, partly because it’s based on just what I see at the time and has no real basis on what it should look like.

    I mean, maybe I can go back and take a longer look at more episodes (i rewatched much of the last episode to jog my memory) but I don’t recall seeing anything that made me even start thinking “wow, this could be animated better”

  3. I have read the manga, and when I heard that they turned it into an anime I about had a joy seizure… Or… I DID have a joy seizure… ^^

  4. Pingback: Strider's Web Info » Things to Watch: DVDs

  5. Pingback: Strider's Web Info » Things to Watch: DVDs

Comments are closed.