Top 10 Anime Openings of 2008

Yesterday I presented my list of the top 10 EDs of 2008. Now it’s time for what I thought were the top 10 OPs of 2008. Once again, I’m judging these more on the music than the animation of the OP. Also, once again, they have to be songs that premiered in 2008.

#10 – Kaiba
“Never” by Seira Kagami

This is a pretty light song, but it’s still emotionally impactful by just listening to it. There were a lot of good OPs this year that could have slid into the #10 spot, but I felt that this was the best one to put there.

#9 – A Certain Magical Index
“PSI-missing” by Mami Kawada

This song is actually more mysterious and intense sounding than the actual series was (at least the first half of it) so I’m not sure how well this song actually went with the series, but I still like the song.

#8 – Soul Eater #2
“PAPERMOON” by Tommy heavenly6

This song is a nice pop/rock song with a nice, but dark, rhythm to it which just draws me to it.

#7 – Gundam 00 #2
“Ash Like Snow” by the brilliant green

I’ve never really been all that interested in the Gundam shows in general, but this song certainly has a nice beat and sound to it.

#6 – Tower of Druaga: The Aegis of Uruk
“Swinging” by Muramasa☆

This is an upbeat and rather goofy sounding opening, but it’s really catchy. Past the first episode, it was sadly probably the best part of the show.

#5 – Nabari no Ou
“Crawl” by VELTPUNCH

This opening seems kind of unusual to me. It’s kind of upbeat, but in a kookie sort of way. In any case, I like it.

#4 – True Tears
“Reflectia” by eufonius

If I were going by animation, this would probably be #1. Even so, it still has a very good and compelling song to go along with that animation.

#3 – Someday’s Dreamers: Summer Skies
“fly away” by THYME

The choice between #2 and #3 was pretty tough. This song is an excellent soft rock song and it’s easy to get into the rhythm of the song.

#2 – To Love-Ru
“forever we can make it!” by THYME

Yes, THYME gets both the #2 and #3 spots in the list. As much as I avoided this series like the plague, it does have a very catchy (even if NSFW) opening.

#1 – Gunslinger Girl -Il Teatrino
“Tatta Hitotsu no Omoi” by KOKIA

I think this was, for me, hands down the #1 opening song of 2008. It told you right there that the show was a drama and should be taken seriously (despite the animation flaws in the actual show). I can just sit and listen to this song for hours if I let myself.

14 thoughts on “Top 10 Anime Openings of 2008

  1. Solid list, and I feel it’s sad that people don’t pay attention to the OP of GSG Il Teatrino more, because it is good stuffs. Though my number one would probably be Spice and Wolf’s “Tabi no Tochuu”, with THYME and KOKIA’s works behind it, and “Paradise Lost” from Ga-Rei Zero also somewhere there. :P

  2. I personally feel Daybreak’s Bell is better than Ash Like Snow, but Swinging is definitely one of the best OP of the year both in music and animation XD

  3. The vocalist “tommy heavenly6” who does the soul eater OP is also the vocalist in “the brilliant green” (the Gundam OP).

  4. Gunslinger Girl was a true delight to watch and a genuinely superb anime, so I’ve been somewhat alarmed by reports of Il Teatrino‘s shoddy production compared to Madhouse’s immaculate triumph in the first series. An OP animation which consists of clips from the show, which I’ve always seen as something of a cop-out, sadly doesn’t inspire much confidence. I suppose I’ll discover the full post-mortem when Funimation puts the series out this year, but in the meantime I do agree that the OP song itself is very strong – I’ve been able to listen to it multiple times without growing tired of it. While the Japanese vocals mean that it’s not quite as distinctive as the first series’ OP song, it has a different rhythm and tone to typical J-rock’n’pop and so hasn’t lost its distinctiveness.

  5. The original OP animation (which I couldn’t find a version on youtube which is why I used the 2nd version) was much better I thought. Don’t know why they changed it (I agree with you on the cop-out thing).

    I watched 6 episodes of the show before it got licensed by Funi, and I was so distracted by the change in animation that it was hard to focus on anything else. I don’t know if it was truly that bad or if it was the difference in expectations and actuals, but…yeah.

  6. Here’s a link to the first version of the Il Teatrino OP, Josh:

    As for why they changed it, maybe it was a move to improve audience figures? While the first OP definitely appears more artistic, it is unusual – just compare it to all of the other OP animations in your Top 10 list, only Kaiba approaches it – and perhaps its unfamiliarity could be off-putting. There’s also the fact that other than the vague suggestion of putting a pistol and a violin beside each other, it doesn’t actually tell you anything about the show that you’re supposed to be watching – even the original GSG OP animation had several shots of the girls actually gunslinging. One of the roles of an OP is to introduce the show, and in all fairness the first sequence was far too opaque in that regard, as attractive as it is on its own.

    Incidentally, do we have any idea exactly when Funimation will be releasing Il Teatrino in the West? The most I can find is “2009”, and I’d prefer that it wasn’t December…!

  7. The Funimation video site (which now has all 13 TV episodes online subbbed to watch streamed by the way – last time I looked they only had the first two episodes) used to give a street date of, I think, November 10th, but it doesn’t look like it has it up there anymore (used to it showed it when you played an episode along with the episode info)

  8. Good choice for place #1. The Gunslinger Girl Opening has a really nice song! Can’t stop listening to it. ^^

    Though, at first sight, I won’t like the style of Kaiba, the Opening is artistic and awakens my interest. It doesn’t look like an average mainstream anime.

    (#7 Gundam 00 ain’t working anymore.)

  9. Pingback: Anime » Blog Archive » Top 10 Anime Openings of 2009

  10. pretty kewl list good music but the only one that i have heard of b4 is papermoon and i think it deserved better than 8 :(

Comments are closed.