Top 10 Anime Openings of 2008

Yesterday I presented my list of the top 10 EDs of 2008. Now it’s time for what I thought were the top 10 OPs of 2008. Once again, I’m judging these more on the music than the animation of the OP. Also, once again, they have to be songs that premiered in 2008.

#10 – Kaiba
“Never” by Seira Kagami

This is a pretty light song, but it’s still emotionally impactful by just listening to it. There were a lot of good OPs this year that could have slid into the #10 spot, but I felt that this was the best one to put there.

#9 – A Certain Magical Index
“PSI-missing” by Mami Kawada

This song is actually more mysterious and intense sounding than the actual series was (at least the first half of it) so I’m not sure how well this song actually went with the series, but I still like the song.

#8 – Soul Eater #2
“PAPERMOON” by Tommy heavenly6

This song is a nice pop/rock song with a nice, but dark, rhythm to it which just draws me to it.

#7 – Gundam 00 #2
“Ash Like Snow” by the brilliant green

I’ve never really been all that interested in the Gundam shows in general, but this song certainly has a nice beat and sound to it.

#6 – Tower of Druaga: The Aegis of Uruk
“Swinging” by Muramasa☆

This is an upbeat and rather goofy sounding opening, but it’s really catchy. Past the first episode, it was sadly probably the best part of the show.

#5 – Nabari no Ou
“Crawl” by VELTPUNCH

This opening seems kind of unusual to me. It’s kind of upbeat, but in a kookie sort of way. In any case, I like it.

#4 – True Tears
“Reflectia” by eufonius

If I were going by animation, this would probably be #1. Even so, it still has a very good and compelling song to go along with that animation.

#3 – Someday’s Dreamers: Summer Skies
“fly away” by THYME

The choice between #2 and #3 was pretty tough. This song is an excellent soft rock song and it’s easy to get into the rhythm of the song.

#2 – To Love-Ru
“forever we can make it!” by THYME

Yes, THYME gets both the #2 and #3 spots in the list. As much as I avoided this series like the plague, it does have a very catchy (even if NSFW) opening.

#1 – Gunslinger Girl -Il Teatrino
“Tatta Hitotsu no Omoi” by KOKIA

I think this was, for me, hands down the #1 opening song of 2008. It told you right there that the show was a drama and should be taken seriously (despite the animation flaws in the actual show). I can just sit and listen to this song for hours if I let myself.

