Top 10 Anime Endings of 2008

I thought I’d make some top 10 lists for 2008, and the first is the top 10 best ED songs in 2008. The only requirement is that they premiered in 2008 (sorry Shion and CLANNAD EDs!).  I’m also judging it more on the song than the animation of the ED. In any case, let’s get to it…

#10 – Birdy the Mighty DECODE
“Let’s go together” by Afromania

This is a little nice rock/pop song that has a nice rhythm and is better than most. Good enough to place it at #10 on the list.

#9 – Someday’s Dreamers: Summer Skies
“Kawaita Hana” by micc

I struggled on where to place this one, as the battle for 6th through 9th was close. In the end, I guess the fact that this was a slower and softer song (which I still like) had this slip down to 9th. Still a nice song, though.

Sorry, this video is no longer available anywhere :(

#8 – Soul Eater #1
“I Wanna Be” by STANCE PUNKS

This is probably the “heaviest” song on the list, but it still flows nicely and has a nice sound, and so this comes in eighth on the list.

#7 – Kuroshitsuji
“I’m ALIVE!” by BECCA

I believe this series is getting a new ED during it’s second half, which will air in 2009. Despite that, and even though I haven’t actually seen this series, when I was looking at EDs on you tube, this one immediately seemed to jump to the top. Also, it’s nice to have English song which doesn’t have any blatantly obvious Engrish as far as I can tell by just listening.

#6 – Shugo Chara! Doki!
“Rottara Rottara” by Buono!

I guess I have to find one guilty pleasure on the list, and this song kind of became one once I heard it while going through songs on youtube. It’s very poppish, but it has a nice beat.

#5 – Zoku Sayonara Zetsubou Sensei #2
“Marionette” by ROLLY and Zetsubō Shōjo-tachi

This is a somewhat kookie song, but it was a really nice beat, and for some reason, I just like the “Marionette” part…

#4 – Shigofumi
“Chain” by Snow*

If you’re going to do a softer sounding ending, this is how you should do it. It’s kind of hard to describe exactly what I like about it, but it’s soft…but not too soft, and still has a nice rhythm or sound to it.

#3 – Shakugan no Shana II #2
“Sociometry” by KOTOKO

When I first heard this song, I really dug it, and I still do, but it ended up not being the top song of the year. In any case, it’s still up there, and tend to dig KOTOKO songs anyway.

#2 – Soul Eater #3
“Bakusou Yumeuta” by Diggy-MO’

The second Soul Eater song on the list, I just really dig this one. It’s just rockin’.

#1 – Toradora!
“Vanilla Salt” by Yui Horie

Those who read this blog at all in December should probably have known that this was going to be #1, though it didn’t end up being as clear cut as I thought it would be at first. Still an excellent song, though.

8 thoughts on “Top 10 Anime Endings of 2008

  1. Marionette is truly superb :D

    Though I have to admit, all zetsubou endings were remarkably good.

    Take this a capella version of Zessei Bijin:

    Ah. Awesome.

  2. A bit curious – you didn’t find the Vampire Knight ending themes to be interesting?

    I see the ending themes for either season one or season two in most people’s lists. If you haven’t heard it already, check it out. (:

    But either way, nice choices. #1 I have to agree with most.

  3. I personally liked the Shugo Chara ending “Renai Rider” better than the one you had, but to each his own. That one is still very kickass

  4. XD well I love it!…some of the Vids are removed though…had to listen it on Youtube on another Video ^^ Two Thumbs up, nice!

    By the way, you guys should stop criticizing xD its his playlist not yours…if you think it sucks, make your own Lol

Comments are closed.