Winter 2009 Anime Preview

It’s that time again: It’s time to look at what anime is airing in the Winter 2009 season. Shows are listed in alphabetical order.

There are 5 possible levels of ratings that I’ll give a show:

  • Will Blog
  • May Blog (presumes Will Watch)
  • Will Watch
  • May Watch
  • Won’t Watch

As usual, I’m leaving out anything that seems to obviously be a children’s show. Like always, thanks to the Fansub Wiki for keeping a great list of upcoming shows.

Now that I’ve gotten that out of the way…here we go!
Continue reading

12 Moments of Anime Day 6 – Shana Cosplay is Instant Win

The otaku show of 2008 may very well have been The Secret of Haruka Nogizaka, with otaku and show references thrown in nearly all over the place.  However, one of my favorite parts of this series were the character’s tendency to show up cosplaying as characters which I both know and actually like:

Shana cosplay is always hot
Watch out for Excalibolg
Hecate! *drools*

Ah…anime referencing anime.  Half the time I don’t even know what show is being referenced, but when I do, I get a real kick out of it.  And doing Shana (and Dokuro-chan) just makes it that much more fun.  That leads to Shana cosplay being added to the 12 Moments of Anime.

(OK, I know that was a pretty pathetic example, but I was running out of moments to post XD)

The 12 Moments of Anime project is the brainchild of CCY.

1000th Blog Post

After 1,026 days of posting I have finally reached 1,000 posts on my blog.

Let's Celebrate!

There have been a few bumps in the road, and at times I wasn’t sure where to take this blog (or whether anyone was even reading it) and It’s kind of unbeliavable that I’ve found enough things to talk about that are anime related to even get 1,000 posts out of it, but here I am, still surviving at the very least.  Hey, at least I’m averaging just about a post a day over nearly 3 years (which is rather amazing, considering some of my hiatuses), and it wasn’t but about 400 or so days ago that I hit 500 posts, so I’ve actually accelerated my posting over the past year or so, overall.

Funimation adds a crap load of new videos online

Basically every series of note that they hold has a page and at least trailers up.  There also have the first two subbed episodes online for Gunslinger Girl IL Teatrino and Romeo X Juliet, the first six subbed episodes for Shigurui, and the entire Soukou no Strain series subbed.

Here are the list of shows where they actually have episodes up:

The only thing I don’t really like about it after playing a couple episodes is that it’s not easy to get from one episode to another, especially late in the series as there isn’t any “Next episode” thing and trying to navigate the episodes reloads the player as well.  But otherwise I’d say this is a good start.

Update

This was seemingly launched on the 10th, but I don’t recall anyone saying anything about it before, and I’m not sure how many videos they had online before, but if was comparable to what was on places like hulu or itunes, then they’ve added a lot more.

Update 2

I just saw on the Gunslinger 2 page that the release date for the series is August 18, 2009.  So long! T_T.

Collection of Funimation Clues

Note: Update 5 acts as kind of a review of guesses so far

Funimation has posted clues all over their website, so I thought I’d try collecting them in a central post here.  If you find any, just post them in the comments and I’ll copy them to the main post.  If you have any guesses, feel free to add those as well.

The first clue they give you is this:

Uncle Randy,

Can’t wait to see your new van!  In fact, we should plan a road trip.  It would take my mind off off of the feelings of dread I’m feeling about next semester.

LET’s DO IT!

Peace,
Greg

Hmm, so what is the clue here? The van? The road trip? The feeling of dread? All of them?  I don’t know if “next semester” is supposed to indicate a sequel or is just there. “Feelings of dread” could indicate something like the second season of Hell Girl, I suppose.

Clue Thought Update:

Could this be Sayonara Zetsubo Sensei? That could play into the theme of “dread” and school as well.

Here is another:

Bob,

Hope that poison cleared up.  Hate to think you’re walking around with itchy toes!

See you soon.
Maggie

Itchy toes? Poison?  That doesn’ts sound like anything I’ve seen, so no clue there.

And a third:

Bobby,

Thought you’d like to know that your grandpa and I went to eat at Smith’s Pie Shop last night.  Bless Your Soul, you always got so excited about their pies during your summer visits!

Come see me soon sweetie.

All of my love,
Granny

Soul? Soul Eater?  Would they be that subtle?  I wouldn’t put it past them.

And I think this is yet another one:

Hey Talia,

You comig on New Years Eve?  Angie, Eli, and you can make it!

Kisses,
Ben

Apparently I’m not good at solving these things.

I’ll try to find more later.

Update

And yet another:

Hey Katie!

You’ll never guess who was at the party last night! Your Ex!  I’ll tell you more about it in person.  He was asking about you! Ha!

Beth

That seems rather broad sounding.  Is there an anime out there which they might license which has a really annoying ex in it?

Update 2

Nebs thinks that the first clue is for Vandread (Van + Dread), so that makes sense as well, though that would be a Geneon pickup.

He also picked up some clues that I missed, the first of which is this:

Dear Mom,

I thought of the perfect gift for Dad! It’s this little gadget called the veggie guardian.  It transmits a high frequency signal that’s supposed to keep bugs off the plants.  Look it up online.

There are three possible clues here for me: the remark about guardian, which seems pretty useless as that could be anything from Coo ~ Our Guardian, which Nebs suggests, to Mamotte Shugogetten.  There is the thing about a high frequency signal, and then there is the thing about bugs which, for which the first thing that came to mind was Mushi-Uta, a show Funimation has been sending C&D letters out for.  Nebs also seems to think of that as well.

Another one I missed was this:

Dear Helen,

Wow, I wasn’t counting on Monte Carlo being this much fun!  Oh, and Crissy says hi!  We wish you were here! Best vacation ever!

-Dave

Two thoughts here:  Just liken nebs, the first thing I thought of when I read “Monte Carlo” was Gankutsuou: The Count of Monte Cristo, which would be another Geneon rescue.  Then there is the thing about a vacation.  Again, I’m at a loss for that one right now.

And a third clue that he found and missed:

Hey Ed,

You totally have to remind me to tell you about this dream I had last night.  VERY random.  Here’s the preview: You, me, a rocket and ship, three monkeys.  Oh! And you were in a diaper!

-XOXO Kelly

Hmm.  I have no clue (Nebs thinks Dokkoida?!)

However, Nebs most brillaint find (or perhaps Funi’s best throw-off-the-scent clue) is the one about “You comig on New Years Eve?  Angie, Eli, and you can make it!”

As Nebs points out:  Eve + Angie + Eli + and.  Can Funi really….?

Update 3

Following up on the same trend that Funimation seems to be following here, and Nebs suggestion for this one:

You’ll never guess who was at the party last night! Your Ex!  I’ll tell you more about it in person.

I’m also starting to think that it is Last Exile.  (You’ll never guess who was at the party last night! Your ExI’ll tell you more about it in person.)

Nebs also suggets IkkiTousen for “Itchy Toes” which would also fit into the pattern.

Also, could they possibly be throwing in multiple clues into each one too?

Update 4

How about this on one of the remaining outstanding clues:

You totally have to remind me to tell you about this dream I had last night.  VERY random.  Here’s the preview: You, me, a rocket and ship, three monkeys.  Oh! And you were in a diaper!

Oh! Edo Rocket?  We have “Oh!” and “Rocket.”  That might be a stretch, though…and there seems to be a lot of strange stuff just left in the clue, though I guess that’s true for some of the others too.

Update 5

There seems to be a consensus growing that six of the titles are:

  • Evangelion (presumably the first rebuild movie)
  • Gankutsuou: the Count of Monte Cristo (currently held by Geneon)
  • Ikkitousen (Geneon has the first series, third series is unlicensed)
  • Last Exile (currently held by Geneon)
  • Soul Eater
  • Vandread (currently held by Geneon)

While the last two clues are unsolved.

The first is this:

Hey Ed,
You totally have to remind me to tell you about this dream I had last night. VERY random.Here’s the preview: You, me, a rocket and ship, three monkeys. OH! And you were in a diaper!
XOXO, Kelly

Where people seem to be split between whether it’s Dokkoida?! or Oh! Edo Rocket.

The second is this:

“Dear Mom,
I thought of the perfect gift for dad! It’s a little gadget called the veggie guardian. It transmits a high frequency signal that’s supposed to keep bugs off the plants. Look it up online.
– Love you! Roger”

Where guesses are all over the map.