My Tentative Otakon Panel Schedule

This is my personal tentative schedule for panels, at least as they are currently listed in the Event Planner on the Otakon website (a pretty neat thing).  Note that not all panels may be listed yet, and I’m sure times are tentative as well:

Friday, August 8th
1:00 PM – 2:00 PM: Lantis / JAM Project Q&A (Panel 3)
2:00 PM – 3:00 PM: FUNimation Q&A (Panel 2)
3:00 PM – 4:00 PM: Media Blasters Q&A (Panel 2)
4:00 PM – 5:00 PM: Kappei Yamaguchi Q&A #1 (Panel 4)

Wow, not a lot of panels on Friday that I’m interested in, at least that are listed yet.  Friday – especially the morning and evening – may be spent checking out the anime viewing rooms.  I may either skip the 1PM panel or leave early so that I can make sure I can get into the FUNimation panel.  I’m not sure what the policy is as far as attending two panels in the same room back-to-back (do you have to leave and get back in line, or not?) but last year it seemed that people didn’t care if one just hung out in the room.  Of course, I wasn’t necessarily attending packed panels either when I did that.

I also intend to visit the Dealers room as early as I can so I can grab up any remaining ADV titles which aren’t with ADV anymore which I may want to buy.  Again, not sure when it opens, but if it opens before 1PM, then you can bet that’s one thing I’ll be doing.

Saturday, August 9th
10:00 AM – 11:00 AM: Laura Bailey Q&A (Panel 3)
11:00 AM – 12:00 PM: Bandai (Panel 2)
2:00 PM – 3:00 PM: Kadokawa Pictures USA Premieres Panel (Panel 2)
3:00 PM – 4:00 PM: Media Blasters Premieres Panel (Panel 2)
4:00 PM – 5:00 PM: AMVs: From Concept to Planning (Panel 1)
5:30 PM – 7:00 PM: Fansubber and Industry Discussion (Panel 4)
9:00 PM – 10:00 PM: Bandai Surprise (Panel 2)

Again, based on how well attended the Industry Panels on Friday are, I may or may not skip or pop-out of the Laura Bailey panel early so I can hit Bandai.  Also, I have some nice breaks built into this schedule.  I can get lunch in the 12:00 PM – 2:00 PM break and grab dinner in the 7:00 PM – 9:00 PM break

Sunday, August 10th
11:00 AM – 12:00 PM: State of the Industry (Panel 4)
1:00 PM – 2:00 PM: ADV Announcements (Panel 1)
2:00 PM – 3:00 PM: Closing Ceremonies (Panel 4)
3:00 PM – 4:00 PM: Con Feedback Panel (Panel 4)

I’ll probably go straight from leaving the State of the Industry panel to stand in line for the ADV panel since that is a absolutely-must-attend panel for me.

Just another note, if they show The Girl Who Leapt Through Time or the new Evangelion movie, then that may impact things, depending on what they conflict with.  I would tend to prioritize them over the non-industry panels, but I would tend to put the industry panels over watching the movies.

Also, I’m just wondering why Otakon always tends to have panels like “Basic Photoshop” or “Basic Flash.”  I found that odd last year too, but I guess it’s a way to learn something new if there isn’t anything else interesting to you going on at the time being.

