Ah! My Goddess: Fighting Wings – Anime Review

The Essentials

Name: Ah! My Goddess: Fighting Wings, Aa Megami-sama: Tatakau Tsubasa
Genre: Fantasy
Episodes: 2
Released: December 8, 2007
Based On: Oh! My Goddess manga by Kosuke Fujishima, Ah! My Goddess TV series
Director: Hiroaki Gohda
Produced By: AIC
US Distribution By: N/A

Major Japanese Cast

Belldandy: Kikuko Inoue
Keiichi Morisato: Masami Kikuchi
Urd: Yumi Touma
Skuld: Aya Hisakawa
Peorth: Rei Sakuma
Lind: Miki Itou
Hild: Gara Takashima
Marller: Urara Takano

Major English Cast

N/A

Scores

Animation: 8/10 (x 4 = 32 pts)
Story: 8/10 (x 4 = 32 pts)
Music: 8/10 (x 4 = 32 pts)
Coherence/Story Arc: N/A
English Dubs: N/A
Gut Score: 8/10 (x 5 = 40 pts)

Total: 136/170 (80.0%)

Review

Ah! My Goddess: Fighting Wings is a story that largely centers around the Valkyrie Lind, who has been tapped to protect the four Goddesses on earth and to search for the “Angel Eater,” a mysterious being which has been eating all of the goddess’ angels, debilitating them.

This was a pretty entertaining 2-episode TV special meant to celebrate the 20th anniversary of the Ah! My Goddess franchise. This special isn’t really for someone who is trying to introduce themselves to the franchise, as an understanding of the world is assumed in this special. Otherwise, however, if you are familiar with the franchise, the quality and entertainment value from this special is comparable to that of the TV series which has aired previously. This includes a good mix of drama and comedy, as is the norm in most of the action-based story arcs in the series.

If you like the Ah! My Goddess franchise and enjoyed the TV series, I’m sure that you would enjoy this short special as well.

First Watched: January 2008
Do I Own: No
Do I Recommend: Yes (if you’re familiar with the franchise)

