Summer 2008: Blogging and Watching Series

So, in a shock to no one who read my Summer Review, I’m going to blog the series Someday’s Dreamers: Summer Skies. I liked the first Someday’s Dreamers, and it was really the only series which really caught my attention this season. And since I was only planning on picking up one new series to blog in the summer, it made the decision easy.

Someday's Dreamers: Summer Skies

Now, as to the series I’ll be watching, but not blogging, all of these series have the possibility to be good, but also have signs that they might be iffy, so hopefully they’ll be the former rather than the latter.

The first series I’ll watch is Nogizaka Haruka no Himitsu which appears to be a harem comedy, though with a little twist: the main loser boy finds out that the hot super-popular girl in the school is actully an uber-Otaku in secret.  This just begs hilarity to me, and I hope I’m right.

Nogizaka Haruka no Himitsu

The second series series I’ll watch is Natsume Yuujinchou, which is about a boy who discovers a book which has a binding contract with some spirits, and his quest to release those spirits from the contract.  Now, I assume the story will be deeper than that, but I sounds interesting.  Part of the reason why I’m picking this up is that the director has worked on some series I’ve liked before too.

Natsume Yuujinchou

As for whether I’ll pick up a third series to watch, I’m not sure.  The first season of Hidamari Sketch was kind of borderline, and if the second season is going to be the same, I don’t know about watching a series which I know will be borderline.

As for Strike Witches, this probably would be on my list, if it wasn’t for having to pay to download copies to my computer from Crunchyroll.  BOST TV has promised some “new things” for this series, and if one of those is being able to download an actual high quality version (i.e., like what one could download from Crunchyroll) for the $1 it costs to watch the episode, then I might watch that one as well.

Other than that, the landscape is pretty barren after taking out sequels to series I haven’t seen.

2 thoughts on “Summer 2008: Blogging and Watching Series

  1. I’m all systems GO for Someday’s Dreamers: Summer Skies since it’s a spin-off and not a sequel of the previous series (I only watched a few episodes of it before orz)

    In place of Strike Witches, may I recommend Birdy the Mighty? I just watched the OAV and it was great. Made me look forward to the upcoming series all the more! I can confidently say it won’t disappoint, if the series will be something like that OAV :)

Comments are closed.