Summer 2008 Anime Preview

It’s that time again: It’s time to look at what anime is airing in the Summer 2008 season. Shows are listed in alphabetical order.

There are 7 possible levels of ratings that I’ll give a show:

  • Will definitely blog it
  • May blog it
  • Will definitely watch it
  • May watch it
  • May watch it if I hear good things about it
  • Probably Won’t Watch it
  • Won’t watch it

As usual, I’m leaving out anything that seems to obviously be a children’s show. Like always, thanks to the Fansub Wiki for keeping a great list of upcoming shows.

Now that I’ve gotten that out of the way…here we go!

Here are some quick links to the shows if you want to go straight to a particular show:

Antique Bakery Birdy the Mighty Decode Blade of the Immortal
Hidamari Sketch x365 Koihime Musou Mission-E
Natsume Yuujinchou Neo Angelique Abyss -Second Age- Nogizaka Haruka no Himitsu
Ryoko’s Case File Sekirei Slayers REVOLUTION
Someday’s Dreamers: Summer Skies Strike Witches Ultraviolet- Code 044
World Destruction Zero no Tsukaima ~Princess no Rondo~ Josh’s Judgment Recap

Antique Bakery

Starts Airing: July 3, 24:45
Station: Fuji TV
Episodes: 12
Director: Yoshiaki Okumura (Bakkyuu HIT! Crach Bedaman, Space Oz no Bouken)
Webpage: http://www.fujitv.co.jp/b_hp/antique-anime/

From My Anime List:

A high school crush, a world-class pastry chef, a former middle-weight boxing champion…and a whole lot of cake!
Ono has come a long way since the agonizing day in high school when he confessed his love to handsome Tachibana. Now, some 14 years later Ono, a world-class pastry chef and gay playboy has it all. No man can resist Ono’s charms (or his cooking skills!) but he has just found a new position under a man named Tachibana. Can this be the only man who resisted his charms, and if so, will the man who once snubbed the “magically gay” Ono get his just desserts? And how in the heck did a former middleweight boxing champion wind up as Ono’s cake boy?

Woohoo! Yaoi!….PASS!

Josh’s Judgment: I Won’t Watch This Series

Antique Bakery

Birdy the Mighty Decode

Starts Airing: July 4, 25:00
Station: Tele Tama
Episodes: 13
Director: Kazuki Akane (Escaflowne: The Movie, Heat Guy J, Noein, Vision of Escaflowne)
Webpage: http://www.birdy-tv.com/

From ANN:

While pursuing a criminal, the pretty but reckless interplanetary police officer Birdy Cephon Altirra accidentally kills Tsutomu, an earthling high school student. To make amends, Birdy is forced to share her own body with Tsutomu’s spirit so that he can continue his own life. At first, Tsutomu knows nothing about his situation but soon discovers that his body is starting to take certain actions without his mind ordering it. In times of action, Birdy takes full control of their shared body, transforming it back into her original female form.

OK, that’s the description of the manga. Whether this will be exactly the same, I don’t know, but I assume it will be at least similar. This doesn’t sound like a series that will immediately appeal to me, but it may end up being good. I may wait to see what other people say first, though. I guess my main worry is that it sounds possibly like a fan service show – a guy sharing a body with a girl is begging for fan service.

Josh’s Judgment: May Watch This Series if I Hear Good Things About It

Birdy the Mighty Decode

Blade of the Immortal

Starts Airing: July 13, 24:00
Station: AT-X
Episodes: Unknown
Director: Koichi Mashimo (.hack//Sign, El Cazador, Madlax, Noir, Tsubasa Reservoir Chronicle)
Webpage: http://mugen.kc.kodansha.co.jp/

From My Anime List:

Manji is an amoral swordsman, who has been cursed with eternal life. He has grown tired of living with all the death he has created. He has no skills other then those of killing, thus he forms a plan to regain his mortality: he shall kill one hundred evil men for each good one he has killed. The old witch who afflicted Manji with immortality agrees to Manji’s proposition and Manji is set on his path to kill one thousand evil men. On his journey he meets a young girl, Rin, who has her own vengeance to seek against the sword school whose members slaughtered Rin’s family. Rin and Manji journey together, each hoping to find some kind of peace. In their way are many varied enemies. Rin and Manji are almost constantly under attack and must learn to live their lives, avoiding being consumed by revenge.

Hmm…sword fighting and violence. I’m not so sure this one is for me.

Josh’s Judgment: I Probably Won’t Watch This Series

Blade of the Immortal

Hidamari Sketch x365

Starts Airing: July 3, 25:25
Station: TBS
Episodes: 13
Director: Akiyuki Shinbo (Hidamari Sketch, Magical Girl Lyrical Nanoha, MoonPhase, Negima, Pani Poni Dash)
Webpage: http://www.tbs.co.jp/anime/hidamari/

From ANN:

Yuno has been accepted to her dream school: Yamabuki Arts High School. To attend the school, Yuno moves and starts to live in a small apartment building named the Hidamari Apartments located near the school. Once there, she starts making new friends like her classmate Miyako and the second year students, Hiro and Sae. Surrounded by good friends, Yuno starts moving towards her dream of being an artist.

I started watching the first season this weekend, but haven’t finished yet, and whether I end up liking the first season will probably dictate whether I watch the 2nd season. The episodes I’ve seen so far (3) have been a mixed bag, so this goes into the maybe pile.

Josh’s Judgment: May Watch This Series

Hidamari Sketch x365

Koihime Musou

Starts Airing: July 8, 26:00
Station: Tokyo MX TV
Episodes: 12
Director: Nobuaki Nakanishi (Kashimashi, Sumomomo Momomo)
Webpage: http://www.mmv.co.jp/special/koihime/

From My Anime List:

Based on BaseSon’s adult PC adventure game “Koihime Musou”, set in the style of the Romance of the Three Kingdoms.

Well, the “in the style of the Three Kingdoms” caught my eye, but the art for this looks like a lolifest, Meh, I may watch it if I hear good things about it.

Josh’s Judgment: May Watch This Series if I Hear Good Things About It

Koihime Musou

Mission-E

Starts Airing: July 7, 25:05
Station: Tochigi TV
Episodes: 12
Director: Ichiro Sakaki (directorial debut)
Webpage: http://avexmovie.jp/lineup/mission-e/

From My Anime List:

Takes place 5 years after Code-E ended. With main lead being the girl who walked the dog in Code-E. But the old characters are there too.

Sequel of CODE-E. I haven’t seen CODE-E, so it’s going into the not watching list.

Josh’s Judgment: I Won’t Watch This Series

Mission-E

Natsume Yuujinchou

Starts Airing: July 7, 25:00
Station: TV Tokyo
Episodes: 13
Director: Takahiro Omori (Baccano, Hell Girl, Koi Kaze)
Webpage: http://www.natsume-anime.jp/

From My Anime List:

Natsume Takashi has the ability to see spirits, which he has long kept secret. However, once he inherits a strange book that belonged to his deceased grandmother, Reiko, he discovers the reason why spirits surround him. Containing the names of these spirits, a binding contract was formed between the spirits and the owner of the book. Now, Natsume is determined to free the spirits and dissolve the contracts. With the help of a spirit cat, his days are filled trying to return the names to these spirits.

So, is this a cross between Cardcaptor Sakura and xxxHolic or something (OK, I’m sure there are better examples, but those are the two I came up with first)? This sounds moderately interesting, and the director has made a couple of series that I’ve liked (Baccano, Koi Kaze) so I might think about watching this. Also, is it me, or does the lead character look a lot like Eric from Fullmetal Alchemist?

Josh’s Judgment: May Watch This Series

Natsume Yuujinchou

Neo Angelique Abyss -Second Age-

Starts Airing: July 5, 26:00
Station: TV Tokyo
Episodes: 13
Director: Unknown
Webpage: http://www.gamecity.ne.jp/neoromance/tv/neo/

From ANN:

Arcadia is plagued with evil, life-draining demons called Thanatos and a vast lack of Purifiers to exterminate them all. While attending school, Angelique attracts the eye of a man who intends to turn the tides to the people’s favor. What lies within her is the key to Arcadia’s survival.

That’s the description for the first series. Since I haven’t seen it yet, this goes into the not watching pile.

Josh’s Judgment: I Won’t Watch This Series

Neo Angelique Abyss -Second Age-

Nogizaka Haruka no Himitsu

Starts Airing: July 10, 26:00
Station: Chiba TV
Episodes: 13
Director: Munenori Nawa (Da Capo Second Season, Otoboku)
Webpage: http://www.nogizaka-haruka.com/

From My Anime List:

In the story, Yūto Ayase is an ordinary boy in an private high school with the usual cliques. Haruka, the school’s most unattainable girl, is so idolized in the school for both her beauty and smarts that her classmates nickname her Nuit Étoile (The Silver Star of the Night) and Lumière du Clavier (The Shining Princess on the Piano). However, in the school’s library, Yūto stumbles across her and her darkest secret — she is a diehard fan of anime, manga, and otaku culture.

This initially sounded like a standard “super girl falls for nerdy loser guy” romance/harem series. However, the fact that the “super girl” is actually Konata in disguise makes this sound like it might be hilarious. Hmmm……since I’m on the fence, I’ll put it in the “may watch” list for now.

Josh’s Judgment: May Watch This Series

Nogizaka Haruka no Himitsu

Ryoko’s Case File

Starts Airing: July 5, 24:30
Station: TV Kanagawa
Episodes: 13
Director: Tarou Iwasaki (Baki the Grappler, Episode Director for Gurren Lagann and xxxholic)
Webpage: http://www.starchild.co.jp/special/yakushijiryouko/

From My Anime List:

The story revolves around Ryouko Yakushiji, a 27-year-old multilingual investigator that graduated from Tokyo University’s elite Department of Law, and the bizarre cases she faces while working for the Tokyo Metropolitan Police. Yakushiji not only has to deal with supernatural beings in her line of work, but also her rival Yukiko Muromachi, another equally talented and beautiful police investigator.

Meh, this doesn’t sound all that interesting to me at first glance. I way match it if I have room and people rave about it, but I don’t know about watching it to start with.

Josh’s Judgment: May Watch This Series if I Hear Good Things About It

Ryoko's Case File

Sekirei

Starts Airing: July 2, 23:20
Station: Tokyo MX TV
Episodes: 13
Director: Keizou Kusakawa (Inukami, Magical Girl Lyrical Nahoha A’s & StrikerS)
Webpage: http://www.sekirei-tv.com/

From My Anime List:

Sekirei are 108 beautiful girls of unknown origin, who together with their Ashikabi (human partners), must battle with one another in order to determine who will ascend and claim the “prize”. What is the larger purpose of this event? What are the plans of the event’s overseer, the same individual who found these Sekirei and introduced them into society?

Enter Sasashi Minato, 19 years old and approaching his 2nd year as a ronin. He is about to give it all up and return home, when quite literally, Musubi falls into/onto his life. An extremely well endowed, energetic, simple and sweet girl in a short miko outfit. Suddenly he finds himself as an Ashikabi, living with a girl for the first time in his life. And this is just the start of his new crazy life, which at most times is more then the poor Minato can handle

Can one get any more “generic mindless harem” than this? Oh wow, a mysterious girl suddenly shows up and lives with a loser dude! I’ve never seen this before, ever! Definitely passing this.

Josh’s Judgment:I Won’t Watch This Series

Sekirei

Slayers REVOLUTION

Starts Airing: July 2, 25:20
Station: TV Tokyo
Episodes: Unknown
Director: Takashi Watanabe (Boogiepop Phantom, Ikki Tousen, Shakugan no Shana, Slayers)
Webpage: http://www.starchild.co.jp/special/slayers_revolution/

From Wikipedia:

Slayers is a Dungeons & Dragons-style parody that follows the adventures of the young sorceress Lina Inverse and her companions as they journey through their world. Using powerful magic and swordsmanship they battle overreaching wizards, demons seeking to destroy the world, dark lords, and the occasional hapless gang of bandits.

Since it’s my policy to not watch a sequel to a series I haven’t seen yet, and i haven’t seen any of the Slayers series, this goes into the not watching list.

Josh’s Judgment:I Won’t Watch This Series

Slayers REVOLUTION

Someday’s Dreamers: Summer Skies

Starts Airing: July 2, 26:40
Station: TV Asashi
Episodes: 12
Director: Osamu Kobayashi (BECK: Mongolian Chop Squad, Paradise Kiss)
Webpage: http://www.sora-mahou.com/

From My Anime List:

Spin-off series of “Mahoutsukai ni Taisetsu na Koto / Someday’s Dreamers” executed by director Osamu Kobayashi of “Paradise Kiss” and “BECK” fame. Animation will be produced by HAL Film Maker.

Not much is out about what precisely this series is about, but since it’s a spin off of Someday’s Dreamers, I don’t have to think about it much.

Josh’s Judgment: May Blog This Series

Someday's Dreamers: Summer Skies

Strike Witches

Starts Airing: July 3, 25:20
Station: Fukui TV
Episodes: 12
Director: Kazuhiro Takamura (directorial debut)
Webpage: http://s-witch.cute.or.jp/

From My Anime List:

The story takes place on an alternate Earth in a time period equivalent to our late 1930’s and 40’s. In order to repel an invasion by mysterious [invaders] bent on conquering Earth, the various superpowers have combined forces to develop a weapon system consisting of a melding of technology and magic that allows the human body to merge with technological components.

I’m torn on this one. The premise sounds a little interesting, and it’s done by GONZO, who can be hit or miss. However, the director is brand new, and it looks like it may be a show heavy in fan service by the production art. I’ll put it in the maybe pile for now. The other part of this is that this will be another GONZO/Crunchyroll release, which means I have to consider whether I want to put down the $1 or $2 to actually download the episodes or not.

Josh’s Judgment: May Watch This Series

Strike Witches

Ultraviolet: Code 044

Starts Airing: July 1, 22:00
Station: Animax
Episodes: 12
Director: Osamu Dezaki (Air: The Movie, Ashita no Joe, Clannad: The Movie, Nobody’s Boy Remi)
Webpage: http://www.animax.co.jp/campaign/ultraviolet/

From My Anime List:

Main character “044” is a female warrior who is genetically engineered with high combat skills and ordered by the government to annihilate a vampire army.

Hmm…another show about vampires. I’ve never really been for shows about vampires. I think I’ll pass.

Josh’s Judgment: I Probably won’t Watch This Series

Ultraviolet: Code 044

World Destruction

Starts Airing: July 7, 25:30
Station: TV Tokyo
Episodes: 13
Director: Shunsuke Tada (Prince of Tennis: The National Tournament, Tsubasa Tokyo Revelations)
Webpage: http://wd.sega.jp/index.html

From My Anime List:

In a world where humans serve as livestock for the ruling beastman, and where sand fills the roles of water and fire. Kyrie is recruited by the “World Destruction Committee” to assist in putting an end to their world. Kyrie alone holds the power needed to do it.

Well, I guess this has a sort of interesting premise. I have two worries about this series, however: It’s based on a game RPG, which often times translates in a suck-ass series. Also, this is this director’s first non-OVA series, he’s relatively new. I may pay attention to it to see if people think it’s good, but I don’t know about watching it right off the bat.

Josh’s Judgment: May Watch This Series if I Hear Good Things about It

World Destruction

Zero no Tsukaima ~Princess no Rondo~

Starts Airing: July 6, 24:30
Station: Chiba TV
Episodes: 13
Director: Yuu Kou (Chrono Crusade, Loveless, Zero no Tsukaima: Futatsuki no Kishi)
Webpage: http://www.zero-tsukaima.com/

From My Anime List:

Third season of Zero no Tsukaima

Haven’t seen either of the other seasons, so this goes into the no watch list for me.

Josh’s Judgment: I Won’t Watch This Series

Zero no Tsukaima ~Princess no Rondo~

OK, so for those who skipped everything, here is the review of how I judged the upcoming winter shows. Of course I hold the usually disclaimer that this is dependent on shows both being fansubbed and not getting licensed.

This season looks a tad better than the spring, but again, there doesn’t seem to be any really obvious “wow” series this season.

I’ll probably pick up 1 series to blog which, looking at the list, almost certainly will be Someday’s Dreamers. I’ll probably pick up another 2 or 3 series to watch otherwise.

Will Blog These Series

May Blog These Series
Someday’s Dreamers: Summer Skies

Will Watch these Series

May Watch these Series
Hidamari Sketch x365
Natsume Yuujinchou
Nogizaka Haruka no Himitsu
Strike Witches

May Watch these Series if I Hear Good Things about Them
Birdy the Mighty Decode
Koihime Musou
Ryoko’s Case File
World Destruction

I Probably WON’T Watch These Series
Blade of the Immortal
Ultraviolet: Code 044

I Won’t Watch These Series
Antique Bakery
Mission-E
Neo Angelique Abyss -Second Age-
Sekirei
Slayers REVOLUTION
Zero no Tsukaima ~Princess no Rondo~

8 thoughts on “Summer 2008 Anime Preview

  1. Spring series was the same way. It’s been a rather “meh” 2008 so far. And many of the series that I did dig up to watch for the spring haven’t exactly lived up to the little expectations that I held up for them.

    I’ve basically seen 3 worthwhile shows in the spring: Nijuu Mensou, Kurenai, and Soul Eater (and I haven’t even caught up on Soul Eater yet past about the 5th episode yet)

    And remember, some of the “wont watch” are series which are squeals of other series I haven’t seen yet (though there may very well be a reason I haven’t watched them yet as well)

  2. Maybe you should try checking out the previous seasons of these shows (since you’re watching “Hidamari Sketch”). May I recommend “Slayers”?

  3. One thing I want to point out, unless they’re starting over again for some reason, Birdy the Mighty: Decode is a sequel as well. The old one wasn’t too bad, and short enough to sit down and watch if you were bored.

    Of course, there is a chance they are starting over since its been so long since the first one came out, I haven’t looked into it too much.

    Link to the original title on AnimeNFO

  4. Well, given it’s notoriety, it’s on my to watch list. It’s not necessarily that high on my to watch list. I mean, I think I have 70+ series in my netflix queue to still catch up on still right now

  5. I highly recommend Sekirei because the Manga is really good and although it has a little… yeah, in it. I’d say it’s 100% worth it. It’s Tenjou Tenge with Fate/Stay Night sort of.

  6. The only thing I can recommend this season is World Destruction. It’s based off a Sega/DS game, which I generally find my self liking anime that are based off of video games. It has a Cowboy Bebop/Tengen Toppa Gurren-Lagann feel to it. The rest of the summer anime though don’t interest me at all.

Comments are closed.