Gunslinger Girl -Il Teatrino- licensed by Funimation

Well, I was hoping I could get my review for episode 7 of this series out before this announcement, but oh well.  In any case, just as the hint yesterday suggested, Funimation has licensed Gunslinger Girl -Il Teatrino- and will release it in a single 13-episode set sometime in 2009.

As a result, I’m suspending my episode reviews for this series, as I quit downloading series once they’re licensed, which is a shame as I only got to see half the series subbed, so I’ll have to wait until 2009 to see how it finishes as well.

This series seemed to have a good storyline like the first, but the animation change from the first series just seemed to overshadow just about everything else on the series.  Hopefully that will get improved at least a little on the DVD release (though I seem to doubt it).

Funimation also licensed Save Me! Lollipop (a.k.a. Mamotte! Lollipop) and Kenichi the Mightiest Disciple (a.k.a. History’s Strongest Disciple Kenichi) earlier in the week.  Funimation states that there will be another licensing announcement tomorrow as well.  So far these have all been new series.  I wonder if we’ll see any Geneon rescues in this batch or not.

