First Impressions: Kurenai

Since the second episode just popped up on tosho, I thought I would tell you what I thought of the first episode of Kurenai.

In this episode, we basically set up the fact that the protagonist, Shintaro, has some sort of power (which can cause him problems at times) which allows him him to take on high-risk jobs. His most recent job is to take care of Murasaki, a 9 year old closeted rich girl, and protect her – largely from her father who appears to prioritize image over family and goes berserk when he finds out that Murasaki is missing from the family enclave.

I was intrigued by Murasaki, because while she acted like a little rich brat at times (“someone couldn’t possibly live in a place like this?!”), she at least appears to accept Shintaro and his way of life relatively easily. Sure she fusses for a little bit, and even leaves his apartment and gets lost when Shintaro goes to school because she’s bored, but she isn’t being all like “be my slave!” like someone such as Hazuki in Moon Phase.

There is obviously quite a bit that we just saw a little, tiny bit of which needs to be unfolded in this series, so I’m interested in how it turns out.

The only thing that seemed odd to me was that neither the opening nor ending credit sequences seemed to fit the episode at all. Whether that means we just have weird credits or whether the feeling of the series will shift, I guess we’ll eventually find out.

One thought on “First Impressions: Kurenai

  1. I agree with you Josh. It really intrigued me, and I hope it goes in the right direction. The production quality was nice as well, so I’m going to stick with this one for a little while. Seems a little darker and mature even though the main characters are young. Very interested in this.

Comments are closed.