Anime March Madness!

OK, so I wondered what an Anime March Madness bracket might look like, so I came up with one. Seedings are based on my review scores, taking my 64 highest scoring reviews (though that only meant that 7 shows were left out…). The shows were sorted into 4 regions: The Romance region, the Comedy region, the Fantasy region, and the Drama region. Just as any bracket, shows may not fit perfectly in any given region, but I did my best. I probably should have done this after my Great Review Posting Blitz of 2008, but by then it wouldn’t have been as fun or interesting (if it is anyway).

And no, I’m not planning on playing this out unless a substantial* number of people wish me to.

* Substantial being enough people making putting up polls on the matter being worthwhile.

In any case, here is a link to the bracket, since it’s too honkin huge to actually put on the page itself. Those who have images turned off, don’t want to look at a big image, or who otherwise can’t read the image, I have the match-ups below the fold.

Romance Regional

#1 Chobits vs. #16 Ajimu: Kaigen Monogatari
#8 I”s Pure vs. #9 The World of Narue
#5 DNA2 vs. #12 Ai Yori Aoshi
#4 Koi Kaze vs. #13 Air: The Movie
#3 Rumbling Hearts vs. #14 His and Her Circumstances
#6 Ah! My Goddess: The Movie vs. #11 Video Girl Ai
#7 Voices of a Distant Star vs. #10 Fushigi Yugi
#2 Kanon vs. #15 Pretear

Comedy Regional

#1 The Girl Who Leapt Through Time vs. #16 Nagasarete Airantou
#8 Kashimashi vs. #9 Idolmaster Xenoglossia
#5 Kiki’s Delivery Service vs. #12 Ah! My Goddess (TV)
#4 Spirited Away vs. #13 Midori Days
#3 Azumanga Daioh vs #14 Oh! My Goddess (OVA)
#6 My Neighbor Totoro vs. #11 Lucky Star
#7 Please Twins vs. #10 Bokusatsu-Tenshi Dokuro-chan
#2 The Melancholy of Haruhi Suzumiya vs. #15 Cardcaptor Sakura: The Movie

Drama Regional

#1 Haibane Renmei vs. #16 Mahoromatic
#8 Fruits Basket vs. #9 Someday’s Dreamers
#5 Gunslinger Girl vs. #12 Akira
#4 The Place Promised in Our Early Days vs. #13 Porco Rosso
#3 Fullmetal Alchemist vs. #14 Bokura ga Ita
#6 Nausicaa of the Valley of the Wind vs. #11 Castle in the Sky
#7 Cowboy Bebop: The Movie vs. #10 Kaleido Star
#2 Last Exile vs. #15 Legend of Himiko

Fantasy Regional

#1 Metropolis vs. #16 Origin: Spirits of the Past
#8 Scrapped Princess vs. #9 Infinite Ryvius
#5 Princess Mononoke vs. #12 Cowboy Bebop
#4 Cardcaptor Sakura vs. #13 This Ugly Yet Beautiful World
#3 Angelic Layer vs. #14 Dual! Parallel Trouble Adventures
#6 Cardcaptor Sakura: The Movie 2 vs. #11 Magic Knight Rayearth
#7 Neon Genesis Evangelion vs. #10 Howl’s Moving Castle
#2 Fullmetal Alchemist: The Movie vs. #15 Fushigi Yugi: Eikoden

